Skip to content

The Aesthetic Surgery Education and Research Foundation

Dr. Sherrell J. Aston, World-Renowned Plastic Surgeon, to Receive the ASERF Career Achievement Award Print
The Aesthetic Surgery Education and Research Foundation (ASERF) is pleased to announce that Dr. Sherrell J. Aston will be awarded the 2020 ASERF Career Achievement Award. The presentation will take place at the Member Business Meeting to be held during The Aesthetic Meeting 2020 on Sunday, April 26 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Dr. Aston, a past President of The Aesthetic Society (1993-94), is a world-renowned surgeon, sought-after educator, prolific author and researcher, and respected mentor within the aesthetic space.

A double board-certified plastic surgeon with 45 years of experience under his belt, Dr. Aston is Professor of Plastic Surgery at New York University and for 23 years, was Chairman of the Department of Plastic Surgery at the prestigious Manhattan Eye Ear & Throat Hospital (MEETH). He is recognized for contributing to the developments of modern facelift techniques and is foremost expert in rhinoplasty.

Dr. Aston has authored and co-edited 9 textbooks, written over 60 peer-reviewed articles and has made scientific lectures and video presentations that number in the hundreds. For the last 40 years, Dr. Aston, along with his partner Dr. Daniel C. Baker, has organized and chaired the annual Cutting Edge Aesthetic Surgery Symposium in New York City, attended by plastic surgeons from around the world.

To honor this revered surgeon and his illustrious legacy, please join us in making a tax-deductible contribution to ASERF which will be used to fund valuable aesthetic plastic surgery research. In the last three years alone, ASERF has promised more than $900,000 in funds to back a multitude of studies that are aligned with its mission of “advancing the safety and effectiveness of aesthetic medicine.” This level of success would not be possible without your support. You can make your gift at ASERF’s donation page and even add a personal message to Dr. Aston in the Comments field.

Donate today to support ASERF’s mission of research in aesthetic plastic surgery.

The Aesthetic Surgery & Research Foundation (ASERF) is a 501(c)3 charitable organization, Tax ID #33-0613185. Your donation is tax-deductible to the full extent of the law. No goods or services will be received in return for your donation.  Please note that the first $200 is considered dues and is deductible as a business expense while any additional amount is considered a donation.
Systemic Symptoms: Biospecimen Analysis Study Print

The ASERF Scientific Research Committee and Board of Directors are pleased to announce the following grant award:

Researcher: Patricia McGuire, MD & Caroline Glicksman, MD

Grant Award: ASERF Interim Grant

Amount Awarded: $221,925.00

Project Name: Systemic Symptoms: Biospecimen Analysis Study

Project Summary:

Although it is accepted that there is an association between textured breast implants and Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma, there is no current definitive epidemiologic evidence to support a direct link between breast implants and any autoimmune disorders at this time.  However, there are an increasing number of women who are pursuing an explantation because of what is being referred to as “breast implant illness” ("BII"), a term originating from a social media group used to describe a collection of nonspecific systemic symptoms thought to be caused by breast implants.  As of 2018, there were over 80,000 women on the two main Facebook sites, Breast Implant Illness and Healing and Breast Implant Victim Advocacy. Reported symptoms include but are not limited to fatigue, chest pain, hair loss, headaches, arthralgias, allergies, easy bruising, heartburn, decreased sex drive, gastrointestinal upset, heart palpitations, hot flashes, infections, night sweats, heat/cold intolerance, migraines, anxiety, swelling, tinnitus, weight gain, chronic muscle/joint pain, rash, body odor, brain fog, sleep disturbance, depression, cognitive dysfunction, hormone imbalances, dry eyes and skin changes.  In the majority of patients, objective markers, such as serologic abnormalities are absent.  There is no established pathophysiologic explanation or diagnostic test for "breast implant illness"; it is not a recognized medical disease at this time.

Recently, several new studies have been designed and funded to better understand the possible role of psychological and social behavioral factors that may be concomitant in women who are reporting symptoms of "BII." This study, in contrast, has been designed to scientifically analyze biospecimens from three groups: Group 1 -  women with breast implants who are presenting with "BII" and pursuing explantation; Group 2 - women with breast implants who are not presenting with "BII" and are undergoing explantation for other reasons (weight gain, or elective explantation with mastopexy); and Group 3: an age matched control group of women undergoing an elective mastopexy without previous exposure to breast implants.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 10 of 40

Copyright © 2009-2018 ASERF. 11262 Monarch St., Garden Grove, CA 92841-1441 P: 800-364-2147 F: 562-799-1098