Skip to content

The Aesthetic Surgery Education and Research Foundation

St. Louis Plastic Surgeon is the New President of The Aesthetic Surgery Education and Research Foundation Print

Adeena Babbitt or Ashley Barton: (212) 921-0500, This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Annual Meeting press office open: May 7-11:  Phone: 617-954-3452


New York, NY (May 9, 2011) — – St. Louis plastic surgeon V. Leroy Young, M.D. is the new President of the Aesthetic Surgery Education and Research Foundation (ASERF).  The Foundation is the research arm of the American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ASAPS).  ASERF research helps to ensure the safety and effectiveness of new aesthetic (cosmetic) plastic surgical techniques and technologies by funding scientific research and clinical studies.
Dr. Young is currently in private aesthetic surgery practice at the BodyAesthetic Plastic Surgery & Skincare Center and founded the BodyAesthetic Research Center, which conducts clinical trials related to plastic surgery.  Twice a year he co-chairs the Hot Topics Seminars at the national meetings of ASAPS and the American Society of Plastic Surgeons. Dr. Young is the recipient of the Foundation’s Distinguished Service Award, and has twice received the “Award of Excellence for Best Article” published in Aesthetic Surgery Journal. A book edited by Dr. Young, titled Patient Safety in Plastic Surgery, was published by QMP in 2009.

After completing his general surgery residency at the University of Kentucky Medical Center in Lexington, KY in 1977, Dr. Young relocated to St. Louis, MO where he finished his plastic surgery residency at the Barnes Hospital at the Washington University School of Medicine.  Dr. Young was certified by the American Board of Plastic Surgery (ABPS) in 1981.

Other new Foundation Officers include:

President-Elect: Joe M. Gryskiewicz, MD of Burnsville, MN, is in private practice at the Gryskiewicz Twin Cities Cosmetic Surgery with offices in Edina and Burnsville.  He has practiced medicine in the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul for more than 25 years and is a Clinical Professor at the University of Minnesota Cleft Palate Clinics School Of Dentistry and is past Chief of Surgery at Fairview Southdale Hospital.  Dr. Gryskiewicz is a moderator for the Hot Topics in Plastic Surgery symposia at the annual meetings of the American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery and the American Society of Plastic Surgeons.  “Dr. Joe” is also president of The Rhinoplasty Society and the Minnesota Society of Plastic Surgeons.  He is the author of the book, Your Body.  Your Beauty.  Your Safety.

Vice President: William P. Adams, Jr., MD of Dallas, TX, is in private practice and an Associate Clinical Professor of Plastic Surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Adams has published numerous papers and book chapters on advances in breast implants and breast augmentation techniques as well as presented multiple plastic surgery lectures on the international level.  He has recently published a new Breast Augmentation textbook and surgical atlas to further educate surgeons, and co-edited a 2 volume rhinoplasty textbook, Dallas Rhinoplasty, which serves as one of the classic rhinoplasty texts available. He serves on the editorial board of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery.  Dr. Adams also serves as one of the staff plastic surgeons for the Dallas Stars.

Treasurer: Al Aly, MD of Irvine, CA, professor of plastic surgery/director of aesthetic surgery, at the University of California Irvine.  Dr. Aly is one of the pioneers of the field of “body contouring after massive weight loss”.  He edited the first and definitive text on this subject.  He has lectured and/or performed surgical demonstrations in over 20 countries and is considered one of the world’s foremost authority on plastic surgery after massive weight loss.  Dr. Aly is the body contouring section editor for the Aesthetic Surgery Journal and associate editor for the Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery Journal.  He is the Editor-in-chief of the Plastic Surgery Educational Network (PSEN), which is designed to be the largest online educational portal for plastic surgeons in the world.  Dr. Aly has received the “Lockwood Award”, the most prestigious award given by the American Society of Aesthetic Plastic Surgery to surgeons that have made major contributions to the field of body contouring.

Secretary: J. Peter Rubin, MD of Pittsburgh, PA, is the Founder and Director of the Life After Weight Loss Body Contouring Program and Chief of Plastic Surgery at the University of Pittsburgh, and is currently the Chair of the Joint ASAPS/ASPS Task Force on stem cells and fat grafting.  Dr. Rubin has received numerous awards for his research work, including the highly competitive Gingrass Award from the Plastic Surgery Research Council.  He is the recipient of the American Association of Plastic Surgeons Academic Scholar Award, and the Plastic Surgery Educational Foundation Award for Outstanding Achievement in Basic and Translational Science.  In 2007, Dr. Rubin was selected to receive a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). The Presidential Award is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on outstanding scientists and engineers early in their research careers. 


The Aesthetic Surgery Education and Research Foundation (ASERF) is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit foundation whose mission is to demonstrate the effectiveness and safety of cosmetic plastic surgical procedures, devices and techniques through directed research, and physician-initiated research.  ASERF is supported exclusively by private donations and research revenues, 100% of which go to its research activities:  all non-research administrative expenses are donated by The American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery as an expression of its mission of physician and patient education.  For more information, visit

The American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ASAPS), is recognized as the world’s leading organization devoted entirely to aesthetic plastic surgery and cosmetic medicine of the face and body.  ASAPS is comprised of over 2,600 Plastic Surgeons; active members are certified by the American Board of Plastic Surgery (USA) or by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and have extensive training in the complete spectrum of surgical and non-surgical aesthetic procedures. International active members are certified by equivalent boards of their respective countries. All members worldwide adhere to a strict Code of Ethics and must meet stringent membership requirements.

Follow ASAPS on Twitter:
Become a fan of ASAPS on Facebook:
Become a member of Project Beauty:
Locate a plastic surgeon in your area:


Copyright © 2009-2018 ASERF. 11262 Monarch St., Garden Grove, CA 92841-1441 P: 800-364-2147 F: 562-799-1098